A Student of History

March 26, 2008

Distinctive Destinations

Filed under: Historic Preservation — John Maass @ 9:22 am

Twelve towns – from a French colonial village in Missouri to a town on the Florida Panhandle – have been honored this year by the National Trust for Historic Preservation for their commitment to historic preservation and community revitalization.

The list of a “Dozen Distinctive Destinations” has been issued annually since 2000 by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

This year’s honorees are Ste. Genevieve, Mo.; Aiken, S.C.; Apalachicola, Fla.; Columbus, Miss.; Crested Butte, Colo.; Fort Davis, Texas; Friday Harbor, Wash.; Portland, Ore.; Portsmouth, N.H.; Red Wing, Minn.; San Juan Bautista, Minn.; and Wilmington, N.C.

See more here and here.


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: